Senaste schacknyheterna från omvärlden

The Week in Chess

  • Yu Yangyi vs Grischuk Match 2017 – Games and Results
    The China-Russia Chess Grandmaster Summit is a four game match between Yu Yangyi and Grischuk in Jiayuguan 20th to 24th July 2017. If the match is tied there will be rapid and then blitz tie-breaks.
  • 8th Danzhou Super GM 2017 – Games and Results
    The 8th Danzhou Super GM tournament took place 9th to 18th July 2017. Players: Ding Liren, Yu Yangyi, Wei Yi, Vassily Ivanchuk, Le Quang Liem, Vladimir Malakhov, Arkadij Naiditsch, Ruslan Ponomariov, Wang Hao and Lu Shanglei. Wei Yi scored his first major tournament victory with an undefeated 6.5/9 a point clear of Le Quang Liem.
  • Dortmund Sparkassen Chess Meeting 2017 – Games and Results
    The Dortmund Sparkassen Chess Meeting takes place 15th to 23rd July 2017. Players: Nisipeanu, Bluebaum, Vachier-Lagrave, Wojtaszek, Wang Yue, Andreikin, Kramnik, Fedoseev. There is a large open alongside.
  • 30th Leon Chess 2017 – Games and Results
    The 30th Leon Chess tournament took place 6th to 10th July 2017. Knockout rapid event with Viswanathan Anand, Wesley So, Jan-Krzysztof Duda and Jaime Santos. Wesley So won the first tie-break game of the final against Viswanathan Anand and drew the second. They had drawn all four of the regulation games. The two favourites both had to come from behind in the first round to reach the final.
  • Geneva FIDE Grand Prix 2017 – Games and Results
    The Geneva FIDE Grand Prix takes place 6th to 16th July 2017. Players: Levon Aronian, Anish Giri, Ian Nepomniachtchi, Harikrishna Pentala, Shakhriyar Mamedyarov, Pavel Eljanov, Michael Adams, Peter Svidler, Alexander Grischuk, Ernesto Inarkiev, Boris Gelfand, Li Chao, Teimour Radjabov, Dmitry Jakovenko, Salem Saleh, Hou Yifan, Alexander Riazantsev and Richard Rapport. I will round up the games each day after the round finishes.
  • Grand Chess Tour Rapid and Blitz YourNextMove 2017 – Games and Results
    The Grand Chess Tour Rapid and Blitz YourNextMove tournament took place in Leuven, Belgium, 28th June to 2nd July 2017. 9 Rounds of Rapid and 18 of Blitz as in Paris. Players: Magnus Carlsen, Maxime Vachier-Lagrave, Viswanathan Anand, Wesley So, Ian Nepomniachtchi, Levon Aronian, Vladimir Kramnik, Anish Giri, Vassily Ivanchuk and Baadur Jobava. Wesley So was the clear winning of the rapid section but Magnus Carlsen dominated the blitz section so much he secured over all victory with a few rounds to go.
  • 11th World Team Chess Championship 2017 – Games and Results
    The 11th World Team Chess Championship took place in Khanty-Mansiysk 17th to 26th June 2017. China won the men’s title and Russia the women’s.
  • Grand Chess Tour Paris Rapid and Blitz 2017 – Games and Results
    The Grand Chess Tour Paris leg took place 21st to 25th June 2017. 10 players: Carlsen, Nakamura, Wesley So, MVL, Karjakin, Caruana, Grischuk, Mamedyarov, Topalov and Bacrot. Magnus Carlsen survived a shaky final day performance in the blitz where he lost three games in a row to win the event after a tie-break. Carlsen beat So in the final round of the blitz to catch Maxime Vachier-Lagrave and then won the tie-break match 1.5-0.5, he had much the best of the final game draw. Below is the final table of the event. Many of the players move on to Belgium for a second event with the same format. Carlsen has won every tie-break match he has contested since 2007
  • 5th Norway Chess 2017 – Games and Results
    The 5th Norway Chess tournament took place in Stavanger 5th-17th June 2017. Players: Magnus Carlsen, Wesley So, Fabiano Caruana, Vladimir Kramnik, Maxime Vachier-Lagrave, Hikaru Nakamura, Viswanathan Anand, Levon Aronian, Sergey Karjakin, and Anish Giri. There was an opening blitz on day one to decide the draw which was won by Carlsen. Levon Aronian won with 6/9 a point clear of Hikaru Nakamura. Magnus Carlsen had a poor tournament winning only one game and losing two.
  • 52nd Capablanca Memorial 2017 – Games and Results
    The 52nd Capablanca Memorial took place 26th May to 6th June 2017. Players: Vassily Ivanchuk Emilio Cordova, Krishnan Sasikiran, Sam Shankland, Kacper Piorun and Isan Reynaldo Ortiz Suarez. There was an open alongside. Krishnan Sasikiran won with 6.5/10 a point clear of Vassily Ivanchuk (defeated in the final round) and Sam Shankland.
  • European Individual Chess Championship 2017 – Games and Results
    Maxim Matlakov edged out Jobava Baadur and Vladimir Fedoseev on tie-break after all scored 8.5/11. 22 places in the FIDE World Cup were at stake.
  • Speed Chess Championship 2017 – Games and Results
    The Speed Chess Championship takes place May 3rd to December 21st 2017. 16 top players qualified: Three time controls 5 minutes plus 2 seconds per move, 3 minutes plus 2 second per move and bullet 1 minute plus 1 second per move. Each section ends with a single chess960 game.

    1/8th Finals: May 3rd: Nakamura 20.5-7.5 Grigoriants, May 24th Karjakin 19-7 Meier, May 25th So 15.5-14.5 Giri, July 20th: Grischuk-Rapport, Aug 23rd: Nepomniachtchi-Aronian, Aug 24th: Caruana-Hou Yifan, Aug 31st: Vachier-Lagrave-Xiong, Oct 5th: Carlsen-Guseinov.

    Quarter-Finals: Oct 12, Oct 19, Nov 2nd, Nov 9th

    Semi-Finals: Nov 16th, Dec 7th

    Final Dec 21st.

    I have removed the Chess960 games as they are problematic for many chess programs. Here is a PGN file including the Chess960 games.

  • French Team Championships 2017 – Games and Results
    The French Team Top 12 Championships took place 18th to 28th May 2017. Clichy took the title by a point from Bischwiller.
  • Chinese Team Championship 2017 – Games and Results
    The Chinese Team Championship takes place 18th April to 5th December 2017.
  • Moscow FIDE Grand Prix 2017 – Games and Results
    The Moscow FIDE Grand Prix took place 12th to 21st May 2017. Players: Maxime Vachier-Lagrave, Hikaru Nakamura, Anish Giri, Ding Liren, Shakhriyar Mamedyarov, Peter Svidler, Ian Nepomniachtchi, Alexander Grischuk, Pentala Harikrishna, Michael Adams, Ernesto Inarkiev, Boris Gelfand, Teimour Radjabov, Francisco Vallejo Pons, Evgeny Tomashevsky, Hou Yifan, Saleh Salem and Jon Ludvig Hammer. Ding Liren took clear first with 6/9 half a point clear of Shakhriyar Mamedyarov.
  • Saint Louis Spring Classic 2017 – Games and Results
    The Saint Louis Spring Classic takes place 16th to 24th May 2017. A new series of quarterly events in Saint Louis just below the elite level. All three groups have elements of interest.
  • 23rd Sigeman & Co Chess Tournament 2017 – Games and Results
    The 23rd Tepe Sigeman & Co Chess Tournament took place in Malmo 10th to 14th May 2017. The event returns after a three year hiatus. Players: Pavel Eljanov, Baadur Jobava, Nigel Short, Nils Grandelius, Erik Blomqvist and Dronavalli Harika, Nils Grandelius and Baadur Jobava shared first place on 3/5.
  • Chinese Championships 2017 – Games and Results
    The Chinese Championships took place 22nd April to 4th May 2017. Wei Yi won the men’s event with 8.5/11 half a point clear of Shanglei Lu and Yang Wen. Tingjie Lei won the women’s event with 9/11.
  • Russian Team Championship 2017 – Games and Results
    The Russian Team Championship takes place in Sochi 1st to 10th May. Major League and Women’s section also.
  • German Schachbundesliga 2016-17 – Games and Results
    The Bundesliga took place 15th October 2016 to 1st May 2017. OSG Baden-Baden regained their title with a perfect 15/15 record.

Susan Polgar Chess Daily News and Information